From the history of Monastery
The vast number of monastery buildings of Minorites and Poor Clares spreads over mild hills of northern Vltava river meander on the east part of Latrán.
Minorite Monastery was established in the first half of 14th century by Rosenbergs, owners of south-bohemian lands. The double convent of brothers and sisters of St. Francis’s order was established by widowed Kateřina of Rosenberg with her four sons: Petr, Jost, Oldřich, and Jan. The decision to establish this less usual type of monastic form - double monastery - can be explained by Rosenbergs’ efforts to become equal to Prague monasteries and by the need of female monastic institution. First monks entered the monastery in 1357 and the monastery was consecrated one year later by bishop Albert of Sarajevo. The monastery church was consecrated to the honour of Corpus Christi and Virgin Mary.
First nuns - Poor Clares or Clarisses - entered the monastery in 1361 lead by Abbess Anežka of Opava. The female element played a crucial part in medieval monastery culture. In 1375, a community of pious laic nuns - beguines, was added. They resided in the building neighbouring to the convent of Minorites creating thus a unique triple monastery. Rosenbergs used to endow the monasteries richly. Apart from gifts, the monasteries were entitled to yield from a number of villages and manors, proving that Krumlov monasteries were not of orthodox nature, bound by absolute poverty.
The monasteries held a significant religio-socio-cultural function. Minorites were considered to be the best preachers in the Middle Ages. By spreading specific religious forms they reflected the spirit and life-style of medieval towns, inhabited by elite noble families as well as traders, craftsmen, beggars and the ill. Minorites gave attention to a wide spectrum of town dwellers and thus significantly affected socialisation of late medieval public urban space.
Krumlov Minorites were unique by preaching to all town dwellers as well as neighbouring communities of Poor Clares and beguines. As is evident from Krumlov Minorites necrologium, holy relics were displayed every Corpus Christi feast and carried in a parade from monastery church to the parish St. Vitus Church.
The current appearance of the monastery stems from a number of building stages including its establishment in 14th century, its late gothic reconstruction between 1490 and 1500 and its baroque reconstruction in 17th and 18th century.
The Clarissine monastery was closed in 1782 by Josephine Reforms and, ironically exactly 600 years after its establishment, Minorite monastery was closed in 1950. In modern history, Minorite and Clarissine monasteries were used as a military school, accommodation for Schwarzenberg officers and later as a seat of various educational institutions or as a storage. Parts of the monastery were still used as social living in 1990s and its interiors were in desolate state before the complex revitalisation began in 2014.
During the vast revitalisation a modern cultural-educational centre was created in the monastery area. Krumlov monasteries introduce everyday monastery life, culture, history and art of the middle ages to general public - especially children, young people and families. They create a space of learning and experience.